Tougher questions. Easier boards.

FREE Practice Q&A. TRY IT!


Each year the McGraw-Hill Medical Publishing division contacts the Deans of each medical school to select two, outstanding, first year medical students to receive the McGraw-Hill/Lange Award. The recipients are awarded a prize of $150 worth of McGraw-Hill books. Below is a list of the previous winners of the award and their stories of achievement.

Meet 2010 Lange Award Winner

Jessica from Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM) in Erie, PA

She is a McGraw Hill/Lange student award winner from 2009 and has likewise been awarded Orris C. Hirtzel and Beatrice Dewey Hirtzel Memorial Foundation Merit Scholarship.

Jessica has been granted these awards for her outstanding scholastic performance as well as her volunteer work. She scholastically ranks number one in her class and also participated on a 3 week medical mission to the Dominican Republic. There she partnered with other LECOM students to serve the medical needs of the impoverished and those in need. It was a mind and heart changing experience that further committed her to the Osteopathic profession.

As a second year student her interests lie in Obstetrics and Gynecology and she promotes Womenís health through her leadership role on the board of the Obstetrics and Gynecology Club on Campus.

Jessica is from Michigan and received her BS in Microbiology from Michigan State University where she graduated with High Honors.

Jessica wrote: "Thank you very much for your support in advancing my medical education. It is an honor to be selected as a Mcgraw- Hill/ Lange Student award recipient. Your generous gift has helped cut down the cost of COMLEX 1 and rotation preparation."